Most Valuable
Twitter Train

  • LeBron James of the Miami Heat is the winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2011-12 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award, the NBA announced today. James earns the honor for the third time in four seasons and becomes the first player since Michael Jordan to win at least three MVPs.
    James totaled 1,074 points, including 85 first-place votes, from a panel of
    121 voters that consisted of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada as well as an MVP fan vote. For the third consecutive season, the NBA and Kia Motors America gave fans the opportunity to submit their votes by ranking their top five choices through a dedicated Web page on The fan vote counted as one vote and was compiled with the 120 media votes to determine the winner. Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five for third, three for fourth and one for each fifth-place vote received.

    Rounding out the top five in voting are Oklahoma City’s Kevin Durant (889 points, 24 first-place votes), the Los Angeles Clippers’ Chris Paul (385, six first-place votes), the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kobe Bryant (352, two first-place votes), and San Antonio’s Tony Parker (331, four first-place votes).
    James led the Heat to a 46-20 mark and the No. 2 seed in the Eastern Conference Playoffs. Despite averaging a career-low 37.5 minutes, the eight-time All-Star led the NBA in plus-minus score differential (+7.6) and ranked third in scoring (27.1 ppg), while pacing the Heat in assists (6.2
    apg) and tying for the team lead in rebounds (7.9 rpg). In addition, James established career bests in field goal percentage (.531) and three-point field goal percentage (.362).
    This season, James was named the Eastern Conference Player of the Month twice (January and February), and he captured Eastern Conference Player of the Week honors six times, extending his NBA record for the most Player of the Week awards to 37. James has scored double-figure points in 419 consecutive career games, the seventh-longest streak in NBA history, behind Michael Jordan (866), Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (streaks of 787 and 508), Karl Malone (575), Moses Malone (526), and Oscar Robertson (428).
    The NBA MVP trophy is named in honor of the late Maurice Podoloff, the first commissioner of the NBA who served from 1946 until his retirement in 1963.

    2011-12 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award Results
    LeBron James (Miami): 1074
    Kevin Durant (Oklahoma City): 889
    Chris Paul (L.A. Clippers): 385
    Kobe Bryant (L.A. Lakers): 352
    Tony Parker (San Antonio): 331
    Kevin Love (Minnesota): 58
    Dwight Howard (Orlando): 13
    Rajon Rondo (Boston): 12
    Steve Nash (Phoenix): 7
    Derrick Rose (Chicago): 5
    Dwyane Wade (Miami): 6
    Russell Westbrook (OKC): 4
    Dirk Nowitzki (Dallas): 4
    Tim Duncan (San Antonio): 3
    Joe Johnson (Atlanta): 1

    All-Time Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award Winners
    2011-12: LeBron James (Miami Heat)
    2010-11: Derrick Rose (Chicago Bulls)
    2009-10: LeBron James (Cleveland Cavaliers)
    2008-09: LeBron James (Cleveland Cavaliers)
    2007-08: Kobe Bryant (Los Angeles Lakers)
    2006-07: Dirk Nowitzki (Dallas Mavericks)
    2005-06: Steve Nash (Phoenix Suns)
    2004-05: Steve Nash (Phoenix Suns)
    2003-04: Kevin Garnett (Minnesota Timberwolves)
    2002-03: Tim Duncan (San Antonio Spurs)
    2001-02: Tim Duncan (San Antonio Spurs)
    2000-01: Allen Iverson (Philadelphia 76ers)
    1999-00: Shaquille O’Neal (Los Angeles Lakers)
    1998-99: Karl Malone (Utah Jazz)
    1997-98: Michael Jordan (Chicago Bulls)
    1996-97: Karl Malone (Utah Jazz)
    1995-96: Michael Jordan (Chicago Bulls)
    1994-95: David Robinson (San Antonio Spurs)
    1993-94: Hakeem Olajuwon (Houston Rockets)
    1992-93: Charles Barkley (Phoenix Suns)
    1991-92: Michael Jordan (Chicago Bulls)
    1990-91: Michael Jordan (Chicago Bulls)
    1989-90: Magic Johnson (Los Angeles Lakers)
    1988-89: Magic Johnson (Los Angeles Lakers)
    1987-88: Michael Jordan (Chicago Bulls)
    1986-87: Magic Johnson (Los Angeles Lakers)
    1985-86: Larry Bird (Boston Celtics)
    1984-85: Larry Bird (Boston Celtics)
    1983-84: Larry Bird (Boston Celtics)
    1982-83: Moses Malone (Philadelphia 76ers)
    1981-82: Moses Malone (Houston Rockets)
    1980-81: Julius Erving (Philadelphia 76ers)
    1979-80: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Los Angeles Lakers)
    1978-79: Moses Malone (Houston Rockets)
    1977-78: Bill Walton (Portland Trail Blazers)
    1976-77: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Los Angeles Lakers)
    1975-76: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Los Angeles Lakers)
    1974-75: Bob McAdoo (Buffalo Braves)
    1973-74: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee Bucks)
    1972-73: Dave Cowens (Boston Celtics)
    1971-72: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee Bucks)
    1970-71: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Milwaukee Bucks)
    1969-70: Willis Reed (New York Knicks)
    1968-69: Wes Unseld (Baltimore Bullets)
    1967-68: Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia 76ers)
    1966-67: Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia 76ers)
    1965-66: Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia 76ers)
    1964-65: Bill Russell (Boston Celtics)
    1963-64: Oscar Robertson (Cincinnati Royals)
    1962-63: Bill Russell (Boston Celtics)
    1961-62: Bill Russell (Boston Celtics)
    1960-61: Bill Russell (Boston Celtics)
    1959-60: Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia Warriors)
    1958-59: Bob Pettit (St. Louis Hawks)
    1957-58: Bill Russell (Boston Celtics)
    1956-57: Bob Cousy (Boston Celtics)
    1955-56: Bob Pettit (St. Louis Hawks)

    Join the Conversation

    Asterisked fields (*) are Required

    In: Music
    2022 YK+Nightlights. All Rights Reserved - YKFD